|The one-room Four Corners School.|
In addition, and not to be missed, the one-room Four Corners School uphill from the church on West Leyden Road will be open from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. This school was restored to its original state dating from the mid-1800s by Ellen Miller. In its day it was one of 19 mostly one-room schools in Colrain.
Built in 1872 and known then as Four Corners Church, the East Colrain Chapel was restored to service as the River Valley Christian Church in 2016. It’s a little gem.
|The former East Colrain Chapel on West Leyden Road.|
|Wilson Hill Schoolhouse.|
An undated photo of one of the early one-room schools in Colrain.